

**Board of Directors** 

Steve Ellis, Chair Becki Heath, Vice Chair Johnny Hodges, Secretary Cheryl Probert Frank Beum Jerry Perez Lynn Sprague Teresa Benson Debbie Hollen Marisue Hilliard Don Howlett Earl Stewart Bill Avey

Gene Blakenbaker Doug Crandall Ralph Crawford Rich Guldin Tim DeCoster Nora Rasure Ed Shepard

Susan Skalski Bill Timko Jeanne Wade Evans Mike Dudley

**Chiefs Emeritus** F. Dale Robertson Michael Dombeck Dale Bosworth Abigail Kimbell Tom Tidwell

Victoria Christiansen

Dear Chief Emeritus Moore,

The National Association of Forest Service Retirees wants to take this moment in time to offer our congratulations to you on your extremely successful career with the Forest Service, most notably the past 4 years as Chief.

March 17, 2025

We are grateful for the productive and supportive relationship NAFSR enjoyed during your tenure and know the American public and our public lands benefitted and were well served.

The wide swings in program, budget and staffing are perhaps not unusual in any Chief's tenure, but the challenges you and your staff have faced and embraced have been particularly difficult.

We are grateful for your leadership during periods of agency growth and for your response to periods of decreasing funding. The employees, the public and our National Forests were well served by your actions.

We believe in the mission of the Forest Service and in taking the necessary actions to steward the national forest lands, for the greatest

good, in the long run. This moment in history is challenging all our thinking. We believe you were the right leader at the right time and respect and honor the work you have done to strengthen the agency, in part perhaps to face this moment.

The membership of NAFSR applauds your strong leadership. We welcome you to the

NAFSR Board as Chief Emeritus and look forward to working with you into the future to continue to provide for the benefit of the Forest Service and its mission, ultimately securing the stewardship of national forest lands.

Sincerely,

Steve Ellis, Chair

Steve Ellis, Chair National Association of Forest Service Retirees